Skip to content

By which Constitutional amendment Delhi was given the National Capital Territory status?

    Delhi was granted the status of National Capital Territory by the 69th Constitutional Amendment Act 1991. It introduces Articles 239A(A) and 239B(B) into the constitution of India. The Administrator of Delhi appointed under Article 239 of the Indian Constitution is called the Lieutenant Governor. The Lt. Governor is appointed by the President and is responsible only to him.

    The Lt. Governor is the constitutional head of the National Capital Territory of Delhi as well as the head of the executive here.

    See also  Are Elections in India 'Free and Fair': Justice Madan Lokur

    Leave a Reply