Skip to content

Ecological succession: Definition, Types, and Sequence

    Define Ecological succession

    Ecological succession is the gradual process by which ecosystems change and develop over time. It depends upon climatic conditions. There are two types of ecological succession primary succession and secondary succession.

    1. Primary succession – It occurs entirely on new Habitat. For example – sand dunes, rocks left from retreating glaciers Etc.
    2. Secondary succession – It a series of community change that takes place on a previously colonized but disturbed or damaged habitat. For example – After felling trees in a forest.

    Sequence of ecological succession as per F.E. Clement

    1. Nudation – It is a succession that begins with the development of bare site.
    2. Migration – It refers to the arrival of new propagules.
    3. Ecesis – It involves the establishment and initial growth of vegetation.
    4. Competition – As vegetation become well-established, grow and spread, various species begin to compete for space, light and nutrients.
    5. Reaction
    6. Stabilization

    See also  Define ecology

    Leave a Reply